MP40's Modelguns Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
MP40's Modelguns Forum

International Forum for Modelgun enthusiasts

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

ABS how real?

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Dollanganger
Dollanganger

Number of posts : 33
Location / Country : USA
Registration date : 2009-06-30

ABS how real? Empty
PostSubject: ABS how real?   ABS how real? Icon_minitimeFri Sep 18, 2009 5:08 pm

I have no experience with ABS. My Marushin Uzi is zinc and has a realistic steel feel and weight to it. It can also be polished, finished, cold blued, exedra just like real steel.

My Auto Mag .44 by MGC is some type of strong plastic which looks like chrome steel but has the weight and steel of plastic.

ABS seems to be what all the model makers are switching over to. How much like real steel is ABS. Is it strong and chip and break resistant?

It’s heavy but is it anywhere near the weight of steel?

Does it feel like hard metal or plastic or aluminum?
Back to top Go down
smootik
Modelgun Perfectionist
Modelgun Perfectionist
smootik

Number of posts : 1823
Location / Country : Poland
Registration date : 2009-03-03

ABS how real? Empty
PostSubject: Re: ABS how real?   ABS how real? Icon_minitimeFri Sep 18, 2009 5:47 pm

ABS is just a smooth shiny plastic ;-) It feels like plastic, warm to touch, it is light, but it is also quite stress-durable/flexible.

HW is "heavyweight" ABS, plastic mixed with metal dust (powdered zinc, if I remember correctly). It looks more like steel, has a different surface. It feels more like metal than ABS, colder to touch, and heavier, too. Not as heavy or cold as real metal of course. It also seems to be more brittle (due to plastic-metal composition) and thus less durable.

Initially models were made with ABS (let's forget metal models for a moment ;-), but to provide more realistic fell/weight it seems that makers moved to HW.