MP40's Modelguns Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
MP40's Modelguns Forum

International Forum for Modelgun enthusiasts

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Tanaka 3rd Gen G17

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
joelhall

Number of posts : 18
Location / Country : Buckinghamshire, England
Registration date : 2014-10-13

Tanaka 3rd Gen G17 Empty
PostSubject: Tanaka 3rd Gen G17   Tanaka 3rd Gen G17 Icon_minitimeMon Oct 13, 2014 8:37 pm

Hi guys,
I'm an independent filmmaker looking at buying the above pistol for a new project. Couple of queries:
Is it possible to get a metal slide, recoil guide rod and barrel assembly, and how does this affect cycling and action?
What are the best cartridges to use?
What are the best caps to use for realistic firing?

Thanks in advance,

Joel
Back to top Go down
Cerwyn
Cerwyn (Site Admin)
Cerwyn (Site Admin)
Cerwyn

Number of posts : 11076
Location / Country : North Wales
Registration date : 2008-07-20

Tanaka 3rd Gen G17 Empty
PostSubject: Re: Tanaka 3rd Gen G17   Tanaka 3rd Gen G17 Icon_minitimeWed Oct 15, 2014 5:03 pm

Hi Joel,

Welcome to the Forum Very Happy

As far as I'm aware, metal slides and barrels aren't available for Tanaka's cap-firing Modelgun.

The best cartridges to use would be Tanaka's new Evolution 9mm re-useable rds and 5mm caps from either MG or Marushin

Unlike GBB Airsoft G17s, for which metal parts are available that are made in HK e.g. no-one has come up with the same for the cap-firers. Possible reasons are that Airsoft's market is huge, it's illegal to have caps in HK, and Japanese law prevents the fitting of metal parts to modelguns originally made in ABS and HWABS 

Hobby collector of Replica model guns and Militaria.
also member of Living History Reenactment Groups.
Back to top Go down
https://mp40modelguns.forumotion.net
joelhall

Tanaka 3rd Gen G17 Empty